Newly-elected 51 senators take oath, secret ballot for Senate’s top slots today

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz. along with its allies, will be contesting to elect chairman and deputy chairman of the upper house of Parliament, Senate, against the opposition parties and independents from Balochistan.

Though PML-N has not announced names of its candidates while Pakistan Peoples Party and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI), along with Balochistan Chief Minister Abdul Qudoos Bizenjo, have nominated Sadiq Sanjrani and Salim Mandviwala as chairman and deputy chairman.

The Senate session started after 10am on Monday wherein Presiding Officer Senator Sardar Yaqub Khan administered oath to the newly-elected 52 senators.

The election through secret ballot for the chairman and deputy chairman of Senate will be held later in the day as representatives of political parties have obtained nomination papers to be submitted.

The PML-N and its allies National Party (NP), Pashtunkhwa Milli Awami Party (PkMAP), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F), PML-Functional and Jamaat-e-Islami (JI) have reportedly agreed on NP’s Hasil Bizenjo as chairman and PML-N’s Nuzhat Sadiq as deputy chairperson, according to media reports.

PML-N supremo Nawaz Sharif is expected to announce their names shortly.