North Waziristan Election
Candidate carrying out Election Campaign in North Waziristan

Citizen Journalist Dost Ali

MIRAN SHAH: The Election Commission of Pakistan has given a green signal to 35 candidates to contest election for National Assembly on NA-48 North Waziristan.

The ECP issued its list in which 28 independent candidates while seven candidates will contest elections from platform of various political parties.

MMA has given ticket to Mufti Misbahuddin, PPP to Ghulam Muhammad, PML-N Nek Amal Khan, PTI Aurangzeb, Tehreek-e-Nojawanan-e-Pakistan’s Javed Khan and Qaumi Watan Party’ candidates Jehanzeb Khan while PkMAP’s Safiullah will contest polls. Main contesters are PTI’s Aurangzeb Khan and Mohsin Dawar of PTM while former MNA from the constituency Muhammad Nazir unlikely to win as he did nothing for development of the area.

PTI member Javed Iqbal Wazir announced to contest polls independently after he was refused party ticket.

Besides, around around 36 contesters would contest elections for National Assembly NA-53 Islamabad. Former prime minister Shahid Khaqan Abbasi will face PTI Chairman Imran Khan on this constituency.

Meanwhile, the ECP also issued final list candidates for five national and 14 provincial assembly seats of Peshawar. It also allotted election symbols to 42 independent candidates contesting elections on these constituencies.

As many as 13 candidates have been contesting on NA-31, 10 on NA-27, eight contesters on NA-30, six from NA-28 and five contesters would try their luck on NA-29 Peshawar. A total of 176 candidates on five national and 14 provincial assembly seats will try to secure maximum votes.