PESHAWAR: The by-polls results in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa brought a major upset for the ruling Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) in Nowshera, while it got boost in Kurram by winning the seat previously owned by the Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F).

By-elections on two National Assembly seats, in Daska (NA-75) and Kurram tribal district (NA-45), and two provincial constituencies, in Gujranwala (PP-51) and Nowshera (PK-63), were held on Friday.

In PK-63, Nowshera, which had fallen vacant after the death of PTI lawmaker Mian Jamsheduddin Kakakhel, PML-N candidate Ikhtiar Wali, who also enjoyed support of the opposition alliance Pakistan Democratic Movement, won the by-election by securing 21,112 votes against his rival candidate Mian Umer Kakakhel of the PTI, who got 17,023 votes. Umer Kakakhel is son of late Jamsheduddin Kakakhel. On the other hand, Awami National Party (ANP) candidate Mian Wajahat got 4,270 votes, while Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan candidate Allama Sanaullah secured 619 votes.

It was a huge upset as former KP chief minister and incumbent Defence Minister Pervaiz Khattak and rest of the party had been claiming that the PTI would comfortably win the election as he remained undefeated in his hometown.

Political observers believe that internal rifts in the PTI Nowshera chapter and support of other opposition parties to the PML-N candidate ensure defeat for the ruling party.

However, the ruling PTI got some relief in shape of victory on NA-45-Kurram.

According to unofficial and unconfirmed results, the PTI candidate Malik Fakhar Zaman secured 16,911 votes to win the NA-45-Kurram by-poll. His opponent, JUI-F’s Muhammad Jamil Khan remained second with 15,761 votes.

The seat had fallen vacant after the demise of JUI-F MNA Munir Khan Orakzai.

In Punjab, the PML-N retained both the seats after a tough contest.

According to unofficial results, in NA-75, PML-N’s Nousheen Iftikhar won the seat by getting 158,791 votes against PTI’s Ali Asjad Malhi who received 142,311 votes.

PML-N’s Talaat Shaukat Cheema gained victory in the PP-51 by-poll. She bagged 53,903 votes against PTI’s Yousaf Araen who got 48,484 votes.

By-elections in Nowshera, Kurram and Gujranwala were peaceful, but clashes were reported in Sialkot where one activist of the PTI and one from the PML-N died in firing incidents and two others were injured.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here