PESHAWAR: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has set up 20 tribunals to hear the complaints of the candidates related to the 25 July general elections.

According to a statement issued by the ECP, the election tribunals will be headed by the high court judges. Out of these 20 tribunals, five will address the grievances of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, eight tribunals are for Punjab, four for Sindh and three for Balochistan.

The Peshawar High Court’s Justice Musarrat Hilali, Justice Lal Jan Khattak, Justice Muhammad Ghazanfar Khan, Justice Abdul Shakoor Khan and Justice Aijaz Anwar have been roped in to lead each of the five Khyber Pakhtunkhwa election tribunals.

For the three Balochistan tribunals, Balochistan High Court judges Justice Hashim Khan Kakar, Justice Abdullah Baloch and Justice Nazeer Ahmed Langove have been appointed as heads.

For the four tribunals in Sindh, Justice Umar Siyal, Justice Yousuf Ali Saeed, Justice Mohammad Shafi Siddiqui, and Justice Khadim Hussain Shaikh of the Sindh High Court have been appointed as heads.

The Lahore High Court’s Justice Mamoon Rasheed, Justice Shahid Mubeen, Justice Shahid Jameel Khan, Justice Chaudhry Muhammad Iqbal, Justice Muhammad Ameer Bhatti, Justice Sardar Ahmed Naeem, Justice Mujahid Mustaqeem and Justice Waqas Rauf have been appointed to head each of the eight Punjab tribunals.

The ECP has directed the tribunals to address the complaints of the election candidates within 120 days.