PESHAWAR: The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) on Wednesday notified share of tribal districts in the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa (KP) assembly.

Under the notification, the newly-merged districts of the province secured 16 provincial assembly seats.

The ECP notification says that delimitation of constituencies is based on 6th Population Census conducted in 2017. The Khyber and Bajaur districts are topping the list with three Members of Provincial Assembly seat (MPAs) each. Both the districts are the most populated districts among all seven tribal districts with a population of 1093684 and 986973 individuals respectively.

While, District Mohmand with a population of 472357, district Kurram with a population of 619553, North Waziristan with a population of 543254 and South Waziristan with a population of 674065 individuals have two seats each in the KP Assembly.

Similarly, the Orakzai tribal district with a total population 254356 and Frontier Regions with a total population of 1, 14416 individuals have got one seat each in the provincial assembly.

According to the Election Commission of Pakistan, they have determined and notified the share of the tribal districts in the provincial assembly under section 19 of the Elections Act, 2017 and rule 8 of the Elections Rules, 2017 in according with the provision of article 106 of the constitution of Pakistan as amended through 25th constitutional amendments made for the erstwhile FATA’s merger with the province.

Yesterday, Tuesday, The Federal government issued an ordinance to complete the legislative work for the delimitation process in the newly-merged districts of the province. The ordinance was promulgated by President Arif Alvi empowering the ECP to carry out the delimitation process for national and provincial assembly elections. The ordinance that will need parliamentary approval at some stage has made the ECP in a position to hold the national and provincial assembly elections within one year.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here