PESHAWAR: Prime Minister Imran Khan Thursday approved formation of a task force for identification of impediments and facilitation of merger of erstwhile Fata and Pata with Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The task force will have 11 members including Adviser to the Prime Minister on Establishment Muhammad Shehzad Arbab (Convener), Governor Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Shah Farman, KP Chief Minister Mehmood Khan, Federal Minister for Religious Affairs Noorul Haq Qadri, Senator Hidayatullah Khan, Federal Secretary Safron Muhammad Aslam (Secretary), Chief Secretary Khyber Pakhtunkhwa, Additional Chief Secretary Fata, representative of MO Directorate, GHQ, representative of 11 Corps, Peshawar, Habibullah Khan.

The merger process is moving with a snail’s pace due to several legal complications and other issues. The task force has been formed to remove impediments and expiate the process.

Imran Khan also approved constitution of task force on civil service reforms and the task force on austerity and restructuring of the government.