PESHAWAR: The government of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa has formed an Advisory Committee to redress the problems faced by tribal people and talked to the disgruntled elements in all the tribal districts.

The decision was taken at a special meeting under the chair of Governor KP Shah Farman at Governor House on Tuesday.

The Advisory Committee on Development and redressal for merged districts will be headed by Chief Minister Mehmood Khan. It will comprise of all the parliamentarians from the tribal districts.

They would hold consultation with public representatives about the development projects and present suggestions to the provincial government. “The committee will have mandate to resolve all issues including holding talks with disgruntled elements,” said a statement issued from the governor house.  It was added that the purpose of the committee was to know about the views of the tribal people in development projects and take them into confidence.

The meeting was attended by Corp Commander Peshawar Shaheen Mazher Mehmood, all Senators and MNAs from tribal districts, Minister for Information Shaukat Yousafzai, Adviser to CM on merged districts Ajmal Wazir, Chief Secretary Mohammad Salim, Inspector General Police Dr Mohammad Naeem, Additional Chief Secretary and other concerned officials.

During the meeting, parliamentarians from tribal districts were briefed about development steps and legal and administrative reforms and the 10-year development agenda for tribal districts. “The advisory committee would prove helpful in resolving all issues amicably in merged districts, the meeting observed,” said the statement issued at the end of the meeting.

This is the third such committee formed to resolve post-merger issues during the past few months. Earlier, in November last year, the provincial cabinet notified a ministerial committee. However, it was abolished in December. Last week, Governor Shah Farman has constituted an advisory board comprising seasoned elders with in-depth knowledge of governance in the defunct tribal region, including Chairman Umar Khan Afridi and members Rustam Shah Mohmand, Mir Liaq Shah and Sangi Marjan.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here