Shaheed Haroon Bilour. - A file photo

PESHAWAR: The Awami National Party (ANP) Monday announced to award party ticket to Samar Bilour, widow of Shaheed Haroon Bilour, to contest by-election on the vacant seat of PK-78 Peshawar.

Election on the seat was suspended after the martyrdom of Haroon Bilour in a suicide attack on his corner meeting during electioneering in Peshawar.

The decision to award ticket to Haroon Bilour’s widow was taken in the ANP Parliamentary Board meeting which was attended by Sardar Hussain Babak, Aimal Wali Khan, Khursheed Khattak and Syed Shahid Raza.

Haroon was the son of senior ANP leader Bashir Ahmed Bilour, who was himself martyred in a suicide blast in Peshawar in 2012.

The Board also announced candidates for vacant provincial assembly seats left by candidates who preferred National Assembly seats. One seat in Shangla fell vacant again due to low turnout of women voters.

The PK-07 Swat ticket was awarded to Waqar Ahmad, PK-44 Swabi ticket was given to Ghulam Hassan, PK-53 Mardan ticket went to Ahmad Bahadar Khan, PK-61 Nowshera will be contested by Pervez Ahmad Khan, while for PK-63 ticket was given to Shahid Khattak.