PESHAWAR: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) Chairman Imran Khan was again declared successful candidate from NA-131 Lahore after recounting of 2,835 rejected votes.

Imran Khan had won elections from NA-131 by securing 84,313 votes whereas Khawaja Saad Rafique of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) stood second by getting 83,633 votes.

The recount was held on the request of Saad Rafique after which Imran Khan emerged as the winner again by 602 votes. The representatives of both the parties were present during the process of recounting.

Meanwhile, Returning Officer Muhammad Akhtar Bhangoo rejected the application of Saad Rafique for complete recounting of polled votes in the constituency. The PML-N leader was disappointed over the returning officers’ verdict and said such a person is going to become the prime minister who doesn’t have the public mandate. He said despite Imran’s claim of opening any constituency during his victory speech, his lawyers objected to recount of the votes.