KP assembly members to stage sit-in to express solidarity with Kashmiris

PESHAWAR: On the direction of Prime Minister Imran Khan, the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly members will stage a sit-in outside the assembly building against the human rights violations in Indian Held Kashmir (IHK).

The provincial government announced to observe August 30 as Kashmir Solidarity Day with the determination that the people of the province are standing side by side with Kashmir people for their right of self-determination under the resolutions of the united nations.

This was announced by KP assembly speaker Mushtaq Ahmad Ghani after the passage of a unanimous resolution against the Indian government for abrogating the Kashmir special status in the Indian constitution.

The speaker said that the protest will be staged from 12 pm to 12:30 on Friday to express solidarity with Kashmiris. He urged all members of the House to participate in the sit-in to highlight the human rights violations in Kashmir being committed by Indian security forces. Mushtaq Ghani expressed that the sit-in would give a strong message to the world that the Pakistani nation stands united with Kashmiris in their cause for right to self-determination.

The KP Assembly passed a unanimous resolution condemning Indian atrocities in IHK. The resolution said that Kashmir is a disputed area and revoking of article 370 and article 35 by Indian constitution is against the charter of the United Nation. The resolution urged upon the government to rise for the rights of Kashmiri people at regional and international forums including OIC and the United Nation.

The resolution, passed by the assembly, said that violation of Line of Control (LoC) by Indian security force has put lives of people near LoC in danger. “The decision of the Indian government to revoke article 370 and 35 is a shameful act. India has trampled all the human rights norms by deploying 70,000 troops in Kashmir and incarcerating Syed Ali Gilani, Yasin Malik and Mir Waiz Umar Farooq and other Kashmiri political leadership.”

The resolution was moved by Minister for Information Shaukat Ali Yousafzai that was signed by Minister for Food Qalandar Lodhi, Maulana Lutfur Rehman of MMA, Inayatullah Khan of JI, Ahmad Karim Kundi of PPP, Sardar Hussain Babak of ANP, Sardar Yousuf of PMLN and others.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here