LANDIKOTAL: For the first time, the Jamiat Ulema-e-Isalm-Fazl (JUI-F) has awarded party ticket for minority seat to a woman candidate, Suriya Bibi.

Suriya Bibi, hailing from Landikotal, Khyber tribal district, has come to the field of politics to resolve the problems of people, particularly the tribal women. She has filed nomination papers for the only minority seat of tribal districts in Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly which have been accepted.

She said she will pay attention to the issue of women education in tribal districts if she became a member of the KP Assembly. She said there is no degree college for women in her area due to which girls go to other areas for education. She said besides formal education, arrangements should also be made to impart technical education and vocational training to girls to enable them to stand on their own feet.

Eight women have filed nomination papers for four special seats for women in tribal districts.

Elections on 16 seats of tribal districts in KP Assembly are scheduled to be held on July 2.

PPP names candidates for elections

PESHAWAR: The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) has finalised the list of candidates for the upcoming polls on 16 provincial assembly seats of tribal districts.

The names were finalised in a meeting of parliamentary board of the party headed by the PPP Chairman Bilawal Bhutto Zardari in Islamabad on Wednesday.

The meeting finalised the name of Hazoor Khan from PK-100 Bajaur, Anis Khan will contest from PK-101 and Saeedur Rehman will contest polls from PK-102.

From Mohmand tribal district, Muhammad Arshad Khan will contest election from PK-103, while Malik Israel Khan will contest election from PK-104. For three constituencies of Khyber tribal districts, namely PK-105, PK-105 and PK-107, Malik Nadeem, Shah Khalid Afridi and Sohail Khan Afridi will contest polls with the PPP ticket.

Shahban Ali will contest polls from PK-110 in Orakzai tribal district. Najeebullah Mahsud will contest polls from PK-113 constituency of North Waziristan, while Imran Mukhlis will contest from PK-114 of South Waziristan.

Other mainstream political parties including the PTI, JI, JUI-F and ANP shave already announced their candidates for the provincial polls in tribal districts.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here