Nawaz Sharif, Jahangir Tareen disqualified for life, rules SC

PESHAWAR: The Supreme Court of Pakistan by a unanimous decision on Friday declared that former prime minister Nawaz Sharif and PTI leader Jehangir Tareen stand disqualified for life in a follow-up to the historic disqualification judgments of the two politicians.

The verdict, written and read by Justice Umar Ata Bandial, was agreed upon by all members of the five-member bench headed by Chief Justice Mian Saqib Nisar and comprising and comprising Justice Sheikh Azmat Saeed, Justice Bandial, Justice Ijazul Ahsan and Justice Sajjad Ali Shah.

According to the Supreme Court decision, the constitution declares a person disqualified for life who is not Sadiq and Ameen. It said the disqualification would remain effective until the court declaration exists.

On February 14, the apex court had reserved its verdict in the case regarding duration of the disqualification of the members of the Parliament incurred under Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution. The verdict was reserved after Attorney General Ashtar Ausaf completed his arguments.

The Supreme Court on July 28, 2017 had disqualified Nawaz Sharif from holding public office in a landmark decision on the Panama Papers case. After Nawaz Sharif filed review petition in the Supreme Court against the verdict, the apex court dismissed the petition against its verdict and maintained the decision of disqualifying Nawaz for violating Article 62(1)(f) of the Constitution.

Similarly, on December 15, 2017,the top court disqualified Jahangir Tareen stating that the reply submitted by him was a confession in itself, thus disqualifying him under Article 62 (1)(f) of the Constitution.

Political experts believe that this landmark verdict of the apex court will change the course of the country’s political history as the ruling PML-N, which is already facing defections, will have to go into the next polls without its founder.

Show More

Related Articles