PESHAWAR: The newly elected lawmakers take oath as members of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly on Monday. A senior parliamentarian Sardar Orangzeb Nalotha administered the oath.

Election for the new Speaker and Deputy Speaker will be held on Wednesday. Nomination papers for the election of Speaker and Deputy Speaker can be submitted with Secretary of the Provincial Assembly on Tuesday. This is the 13th provincial assembly in the parliamentary history of the province since 1946.

In the 124-member House, 99 lawmakers are elected on general seats while 22 are reserved for women and three for minority communities.

The election was suspended on two provincial assembly constituencies including PK-78 Peshawar and PK-99 Dera Ismail Khan due to the martyrdom of ANP candidate Haroon Bashir Bilour and PTI’s Sardar Ikramullah Khan Gandapur in suicide bombings.

Besides, ECP de-notified the election on PK-23 Shangla due to the low turnout of female voters in the constituency. The seat was won by PTI’s Shaukat Yousafzai. The losing PML-N candidate Rashad Khan had approached the Election Commission with the complaint that the women who voted were less than the mandatory 10 percent of the total votes cast.