PESHAWAR: The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) on Thursday announced a 17-member squad for the upcoming Test series against Australia.

The home series to be played in the United Arab Emirates will kick off from 7 October. Mohammad Amir and Rahat Ali have been omitted, while chance has been given to Wahab Riaz and Mir Hamza. Amir has been dropped due to his poor form during recent matches.

Muhammad Rizwan has been included as back-up wicket-keeper, while Yasir Shah has also been included.

Pakistan squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Azhar Ali, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Babar Azam, Asad Shafiq, Haris Sohail, Usman Salahuddin, Yasir Shah, Shadab Khan, Bilal Asif, Mohammad Abbas, Hasan Ali, Wahab Riaz, Faheem Ashraf, Mir Hamza, Mohammad Rizwan.

Chief selector Inzaman-ul-Haq said the team have been selected keeping in mind the conditions of the UAE.

Australia has already announced squad for the series.

Australia Test squad: Tim Paine (c), Ashton Agar, Brendan Doggett, Aaron Finch, Travis Head, Jon Holland, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Mitch Marsh, Shaun Marsh, Michael Neser, Matthew Renshaw, Peter Siddle, Mitchell Starc.