PESHAWAR: The first match of the three-match T20 series between Pakistan and New Zealand will be played in Abu Dhabi today (Wednesday).
The match will begin at 9:00pm (PST). Pakistan will start the series as favourites given their thrashing of Australia in the just concluded T20 series in the United Arab Emirates and top position on the rankings. However, Pakistan anticipate a tougher challenge from New Zealand who will test Pakistan’s recent dominance in the shortest format of the game.
New Zealand are currently ranked fifth in the T20 rankings and they haven’t played international cricket for the last seven months. Injuries to a couple of key players also dented New Zealand and they called in replacements.
Pakistan are likely to go with the same combination which defeated Australia in the final match. Fakhar Zaman may miss the match with an injury. Pitch and conditions are likely to be the same which were seen in matches against Australia.
Pakistan squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Fakhar Zaman, Mohammad Hafeez, Sahibzada Farhan, Babar Azam, Shoaib Malik, Asif Ali, Hussain Talat, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Usman Khan Shanwari, Hasan Ali, Imad Wasim, Waqas Maqsood, Faheem Ashraf.
New Zealand squad: Kane Williamson (captain), Corey Anderson, Mark Chapman, Lockie Ferguson, Colin de Grandhomme, Adam Milne, Colin Munro, Ajaz Patel, Glenn Phillips, Seth Rance, Tim Seifert, Ish Sodhi, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor.