PESHAWAR: The third match of the five-match one-day international (ODI) series between Pakistan and South Africa will be played at Centurion tomorrow (Friday).

The match will begin at 4:00pm (PST). Currently the series is levelled after victory of South Africa in the second match. Pakistan won the first match by five wickets, while South Africa bounced back to win the second match by five wickets.

Pakistan may consider bringing back Imad Wasim keeping in view the failure of Hussain Talat in the last match who was included in the playing eleven in place of Imad in the hope of good batting performance.

The other change likely in the team is that of captain Sarfraz Ahmed who is currently under fire over his apparent ‘racial comment’ on Andile Phehlukwayo in the second match. Although, Sarfraz has accepted his mistake and apologised for his comment, but it is likely that he may face ban from the International Cricket Council (ICC).

“I wish to extend my sincere apologies to any person who may have taken offence from my expression of frustration which was unfortunately caught by the stump mic during yesterday’s game against SA. My words were not directed towards anyone in particular,” Sarfraz said on Twitter.

He added, “I certainly had no intention of upsetting anyone. I did not even mean for my words to be heard, understood or communicated to the opposing team or the cricket fans. I have in the past and will continue in future to appreciate the camaraderie of my fellow cricketers from across the globe and will always respect and honour them on and off the field.”

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) in a statement regretted the incident and said it is confident that this incident will not affect the series, which has been played in great spirit.

However, cricket experts believe that it will be very difficult for Sarfraz to avoid the ban.

Proteas have also brought back Quinton de Kock and Dale Steyn in the ODI squad which has further strengthened their team. They were rested for the first two ODIs. Uncapped Beuran Hendricks has also been included in the squad, while Duanne Olivier, Dane Paterson and Heinrich Klaasen have been rested.

Pakistan Squad: Sarfraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari.

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis (capt), Hashim Amla, Quinton de Kock, Beuran Hendricks, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir , Aiden Markram, David Miller, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Dale Steyn, Rassie van der Dussen.

Hits: 2


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here