PESHAWAR: After 3-0 whitewash in the Test series, Pakistan team have reached Port Elizabeth from Johannesburg for training for the ODI series.

The first ODI between South Africa and Pakistan will be played in Port Elizabeth on 19 January. The second game will be played on 22 January, third fixture will be contested on 25 January, fourth and fifth ODI will be played on 27 and 30 January, respectively. The two teams will play a three-match T20I series after the end of ODI series.

Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim and Mohammad Hafeez, who are part of the ODI team, have joined the side in Port Elizabeth, while Shoaib Malik, who was in Bangladesh, has also reached South Africa for the limited-over series.

Media reports said South Africa have rested fast bowler Dale Steyn and wicket keeper Quinton de Kock for the first two ODIs against Pakistan. They have included Duanne Olivier and Aiden Markram in the squad keeping in view their brilliant performance in the Test series.  Olivier, who took 24 wickets in the Test series and was declared player of the series, is most likely to make his ODI debut in the Port Elizabeth match. Heinrich Klaasen will take the keeping gloves in de Kock’s absence.

South Africa have rested Steyn keeping in view the injury scare in the last Test. He has been rested to avoid the risk of aggravating the injury.

South Africa are in a comfortable positon gaining into the ODI series after their dominant performance in the just concluded Test series. However, it will be a big challenge for Pakistan to avoid embarrassment on the fast and moving pitches. Fast bowlers are likely to play key role in the outcome of the series.

Pakistan Squad: Sarfaraz Ahmed (captain), Babar Azam, Faheem Ashraf, Fakhar Zaman, Hasan Ali, Hussain Talat, Imad Wasim, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Rizwan, Shadab Khan, Shaheen Afridi, Shan Masood, Shoaib Malik, Usman Shinwari.

South Africa squad: Faf du Plessis(c), Hashim Amla, Aiden Markram, Reeza Hendricks, Imran Tahir, Heinrich Klaasen, David Miller, Dane Paterson, Andile Phehlukwayo, Dwaine Pretorius, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Duanne Olivier, Rassie van der Dussen.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here