PESHAWAR: The 19th meeting of the Standing Committee of the National Assembly on States and Frontier Regions (Safron) was held at the Parliament House, Islamabad, under the Chairmanship of Member National Assembly Sajid Khan on Wednesday.

The committee expressed its displeasure over non-implementation on the issues of students’ quota and their fees, and non-provision of basic health facilities and supply of gas to the merged tribal districts of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa.

The committee also expressed its concern over non provision of complete funds for erstwhile Fata. The committee emphasized that the Petroleum Division should take serious efforts for exploration of gas in South and North Waziristan tribal districts, says a press release.

According to minutes of the meeting, the committee directed to invite Chairman Higher Education Commission (HEC), Chief Secretary Khyber Pakhtunkhwa and officers from Water Management and Agriculture Engineering, KP in the next meeting.

The committee expressed displeasure over the absence of Secretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs and deferred the agenda items relating to the briefing on restoration of economic activities on Pak-Iran and Pak-Afghan borders, for its next meeting. The committee directed to invite the Secretary Ministry of Commerce, Secretary Ministry of Foreign Affairs, Secretary Ministry of Interior and the Chairman Federal Board of Revenue (FBR) for briefing on these deferred agenda items.

The statement said the officers from the Ministry of Interior briefed the committee on the closure of Nowapass and Gorsal border points at Pakistan-Afghanistan border for trade activities. The Secretary Safron briefed the committee on the implementation status of previous recommendations of the committee. Senior officers from the Ministry of Interior and Petroleum Division replied to a number of queries and questions raised by the chairman and members of the committee.

The committee unanimously approved the minutes of its previous meeting held on13th April 2021.

The meeting was attended by Members of National Assembly Shahid Ahmad, Gul Dad Khan, Gul Zafar Khan, Muhammad Iqbal Khan, Aliya Malik, Mst. Shaheen Naz Saifullah, Muhammad Afzal Khokhar, Aysha Rajab Ali, Muhammad Jamalud Din and Agha Hassan Baloch. The meeting was also attended by Sahibzada Muhammad Mehboob Sultan, MNA/Federal Minister for SAFRON.

Hits: 1


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here