PESHAWAR, 21 December: The Peshawar Zalmi team selected Pakistan T20 team captain Shahid Khan Afridi as the first phase of drafting players for the upcoming Pakistan Super League concluded in National Cricket Academy, Lahore on Monday.

Owners of all the five franchises and coaches attended the ceremony and drafted players of their choice. PCB chairman Shahryar Khan was also present on the occasion.

Besides Shahid Afridi, Peshawar Zalmi team selected national team fast bowler Wahab Riaz and West Indian Darren Sammy in the Platinum category whereas Kamran Akmal, Muhammad Hafeez and English player Chris Jordan were selected from the Diamond category.

Among other Iconic players, all-rounder Shoaib Malik was selected by Karachi Kings, Chris Gayle by Lahore Qalandars, Kevin Pietersen by Quetta Gladiators and Shane Watson by Islamabad United.

Karachi Kings chose Bangladeshi player Shakib al Hasan and Sohail Tanveer from the Platinum category while it also picked left arm fast bowler Muhammad Amir from the Gold category.

Islamabad United drafted Test team captain Misbah ul Haq and Andre Russell in the Platinum category. Quetta Gladiators chose Ahmed Shahzad and wicket keeper Sarfraz Ahmad in the Platinum category.

Similarly, Umar Akmal and West Indian Dwayne Bravo were selected by Lahore Qalandars in thte Platinum category.

Surprisingly, ace batsman and Pakistan T20 World Cup winning team captain Younas Khan was not selected by any team.

Drafting from the Silver and Emerging categories will be held on Tuesday.

All the five franchises can select three players each from Platinum, Diamond and Gold categories whereas five players can be selected from the Silver category. Each team has to select two players from the Emerging category.

The millions-dollars PSL will get underway from February 4 and will continue till 23rd February.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here