PPP’s Sanaullah romps home in PK-93 by-poll

UPPER DIR, 15 September: The Pakistan People’s Party (PPP) candidate Sahibzada Sanaullah won by-election on Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Assembly seat PK-93, Upper Dir-III, on Tuesday by securing 25,097 votes, according to unofficial results.

The Jamaat-e-Islami’s Azam Khan bagged 19,110 votes. The polling started at 8:00am which continued till 05:00pm. A total of 120 polling stations were set up in addition to 308 polling booths – eight of them for women voters.

Sanaullah enjoyed the support of the Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N), Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) and Awami National Party (ANP), while the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) had announced support for Malik Azam. He was also supported by the Qaumi Watan Party (QWP).

Behram Khan of the Jamaat-e-Islami won the seat in the last general elections held in May 2013. However, the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) declared him disqualified for holding a fake educational degree and ordered fresh election on the seat.

There were 148,796 registered voters in the constituency. Women for the first time cast votes in a few polling stations in the constituency.

A few months ago, an election tribunal had declared election on PK-95, Lower Dir void for non-participation of women in the polling. However, the Supreme Court of Pakistan had reversed that decision.

Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply