ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) emerged the single largest party in the National Assembly with securing 116 seats has announced to form the next government with Imran Khan as prime minister.

PTI has so far secured 116 seats in the National Assembly followed by PML (N) 64, PPP 43, independents 14, Muttahida Majlis-e-Amal 12, MQM 06, Pakistan Muslim League 05 and 02 each by Balochistan National Party and the Grand Democratic Alliance.

In Punjab, PML-N stand on top with 127 seats followed by PTI with 122 seats while in  KP, PTI has secured simple majority with 67 seats and in Sindh Pakistan Peoples Party is leading 74 seats. In Balochistan, Balochistan Awami Party with 14 seats is at the top followed by MMA with 9 seats.

PTI is making efforts at center and Punjab to form next government as Jehangir Tareen has contacted MQM.

Jahangir Tareen called convener of MQM Khalid Maqbool Siddiqui on phone and discussed political situation with him. Both leaders agreed to hold a formal meeting soon.  PML-N is also contacting various political parties.

Senator Mushahidullah while speaking in a press conference in Karachi said his party is in contact with various political stakeholders for formation of government.

Meanwhile, Election Commission of Pakistan has directed all Returning Officers to provide Form 45 to desirous political candidates. It said the candidate can obtain the copy of said from concerned Returning Officer.