PESHAWAR: The Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) has formally launched the process of selecting candidates for the upcoming provincial elections in the tribal districts.

According to a statement issued by the central media department of the PTI, the parliamentary board head Arshid Dad held a meeting with chief organiser Saifullah Niazi to discuss the procedure of awarding tickets to candidates for the provincial polls in the merged districts. The statement said the aspiring candidates have been asked to file applications for award of party tickets. The men and women aspiring to get the PTI ticket for the polls can submit application in this regard by 13 May.

The statement said the eligibility criteria and forms have been uploaded on the party website. It said the filing of application with credentials will be mandatory for the candidates aspiring to contest the polls. Application is also mandatory to fill the special seats for women and minorities. Only the applications of the people hailing from the tribal districts and frontier regions will be considered for the seats of minorities and women.

The three-member parliamentary board of the PTI will scrutinise the applications and call the candidates for interview. The candidates selected in the interview will be awarded PTI tickets. The PTI parliamentary board for awarding tickets to candidates for provincial elections in KP include Central Secretary General Arshid Dad, Federal Minister for Religious Affairs Allama Noorul Haq Qadri and Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Chief Minister Mehmood Khan.

Elections on 16 general seats of the merged districts and frontier regions will be held on 2 July. The Election Commission of Pakistan has issued schedule for the polls according to which four seats have been allocated for women and one for minorities.

According to the ECP notification, elections will be held on PK-108 Kurram, PK-109 Kurram-Il, PK-110 Orakzai, PK-111 North Waziristan-l, PK-112 North Waziristan-Il, PK-113 South Waziristan-PK-114 South Waziristan-Il, PK-115 Ex-Frontier Regions, PK-100 Bajaur-I, PK-101 Bajaur-Il, PK-102 Bajaur-Ill, PK-103 Mohmand-l, PK-104 Mohmand-ll, PK-105 Khyber PK-106 Khyber-ll, PK-107 Khyber-Ill.

Besides the ban on posting and transfers of government officials, no government functionary or elected representative will be allowed to announce any development scheme for the constituencies, where the election is scheduled on 2 July.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here