Three franchise teams boycott FSL-2

KHAR, 12 March: Owners of three franchise teams from Bajaur on Monday announced to boycott the second edition of the Fata Super League (FSL) alleging the league management of running a business in the name of sport.

Bajaur Blue team owner, Malik Haji Bahadar told TNN that they had decided not to participate in FSL-2 as a protest for not selecting Bajaur as a venue for the league matches.

“Comparatively, law and order situation in Bajaur is far better than other tribal agencies and that is why we have requested the FSL management to either hold the inaugural ceremony or the final match in Bajuar but our request was turned down. We, the management of three franchise teams, Bajaur Blue, Bajuar Guluna and Bajaur Nangialia, decided to boycott the event,” Bahadar told TNN.

“The craze of cricket is a bit high here as compared to other agencies. The number of teams from Bajaur in the last edition was more than other agencies and the matches played here had pulled record number of crowd,” he said.

Haji Bahadar alleged that the FSL management has made the event as a business. He further alleged that the FSL management had not been giving due respect to players and teams’ owners.

“The FSL management has been collecting hundreds of thousands of rupees from the teams in the name of entry fees but even then it didn’t ensure provision of proper changing room and clean drinking water for the players,” he remarked.

He asked the PCB and the Fata sports directorate to take notice of the alleged corruption of the FSL management. He also announced to hold Bajaur Super League in the next week, saying teams from Bajaur and other agencies would be invited to participate in the tournament.

The second edition of the Fata Super League will begin on March 18. According to the organizers of the event, 24 franchises teams are participating in the tournament from all the seven tribal agencies and six Frontier Regions (FRs). The matches of the tournament will be played on grounds in Jamrud (Khyber Agency), Bajaur, Kurram and Peshawar only.

Players and team owners from other tribal agencies have also expressed reservations over selection of venues for the league matches.

Show More

Related Articles