PESHAWAR: The Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Government has given the status of Session Division to the newly merged seven tribal districts of the province, said a notification issued by the Home Department here on Tuesday.

As per the notification, all the districts will be a Session Division recently merged into the province of KP while Hassan Khel, Darra Adam Khel, Wazir, Bittani, Darazinda and Jandola will be the subdivision.

The erstwhile Federally Administered Tribal Area (FATA) was comprised of seven tribal agencies and six frontier regions (FRs) which have been merged into the province after the passage of the 25th constitutional amendment and abolishment of the British era law, Frontier Crime Regulations (FCR).

The Peshawar High Court (PHC) was awaiting the notification of Khyber Pakhtunkhwa government about the extension of regular courts to all the tribal districts, which were facing a legal vacuum.

On December 18, a communiqué issued by the PHC’s registrar said the high court has completed its homework and is ready for extension of regular courts to tribal districts for safeguarding the constitutionally guaranteed rights of the people of these districts.

The registrar of PHC had asked the provincial government to declare the 7 new districts as Session Divisions and create/sanction the required posts.

The KP Government has sought six months from the apex court after the Peshawar High Court and then the Supreme Court of Pakistan declared the Fata Interim Governance Regulation 2018 as ultra vires of the Constitution. The PHC had set a deadline of 30 days for the establishment of regular courts in the erstwhile Fata, however, the SCP has extended the deadline to six months.

In early in July, last year, the Peshawar high court had moved a summary to the chief minister seeking notification for establishment of session courts and courts of the senior civil judge in the newly-created tribal districts.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here