D.I.Khan election pic

PESHAWAR, September 9: Pakistan Tehrik-e-Insaf candidate Mr Ihtesham Javed Akbar has won the by-election on provincial assembly seat PK-68 in Dera Ismail Khan, according to unofficial results.

Sources in the Election Commission say the PTI candidate has achieved 37,078 votes while the runner-up Mr Murid Kazim, an independent candidate, has polled 32,640 votes.

Local residents told TNN that Syed Murid Kazim had the support of ANP, JUI, PPP and PML-N. Last year the seat had been won by Mr Javed Akbar being an independent candidate and he later joined the PTI.

Javed Akbar was disqualified by the Peshawar High Court in fake degree case three months ago. There were 13 candidates contesting the by-poll but Ihtesham Javed Akbar, who is the son of disqualified MPA Javed Akbar, has won the seat.