PESHAWAR: The recounting of votes is underway in various constituencies on the applications of the losing candidates.

In NA-13, Mansehra, recounting is continuing on the application of the PML-N’s losing candidate Shahjehan Yousuf. He lost to independent candidate Saleh Muhammad Khan with a narrow margin. His supporters also staged protests against the results. Saleh Muhammad has now joined the PTI.

In NA-43, Khyber tribal district, the returning officer has approved recounting on the application of losing candidate Al-Haaj Shah Jee Gul Afridi. Noorul Haq Qadri of the PTI emerged victorious from that constituency.

Some of the prominent constituencies where re-counting was being carried out include NA-126, NA-129, NA-131, Lahore, NA-108, NA-106 Faisalabad, NA-154, NA-157 Multan, PP-162 Lahore, NA-230 Badin, NA-57 Murree and NA-237 Karachi Malir-III.

From PP-270 Muzaffargarh 3, independent candidate Abdul Hayi Dasti was declared victorious on Saturday after a vote recount showed him leading the Pakistan Awami Raaj (PAR) candidate Muhammad Ajmal Khan by a margin of 17 votes. According to unofficial results, Ajmal Khan had won the Punjab Assembly constituency PP-270 Muzaffargarh by securing 17,669 votes. Dasti had been the runner-up with 17,645 votes in the narrowly fought contest.

Applications by the PML-N’s losing candidates Saad Rafique and Abid Sher Ali were approved by the respective returning officers, while the PTI leader Aleem Khan has also filed a plea.