PESHAWAR: The fifth and last match of the five-match ODI series between Pakistan and Australia will be played in Dubai today (Friday).

The match will begin at 4:00pm (PST). Australia will be aiming for not less than a clean sweep in the series after their impressive victories in the previous four matches. Everything is working for them well at the moment and their main players are peaking at the right time ahead of the upcoming World Cup. Australia have adapted well on the slow and low pitches of the United Arab Emirates and dominated Pakistan in all the departments of the game. They have won seven ODIs on a trot and now they will be aiming for not less than a clean sweep against Pakistan.

The first three matches were quite one-sided, while Pakistan showed fight in the fourth match, but they eventually lost due to poor batting in the end. Pakistan will like to filed the same team in the fifth match which gave tough time to Australia in the fourth match. However, Shoaib Malik may return as captain if he gains full fitness. In that case, Umar Akmal is likely to sit out. Abid Ali with his debut century and Mohammad Rizwan with his two centuries in the series have made strong case for selection in the World Cup. However, the fate of Umar Akmal, Shan Masood, Imam-ul-Haq, Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Amir, Junaid Khan, Mohammad Hasnain and Yasir Shah for the World Cup remains undecided due to their inconsistent performances. It is most likely that the six rested players for the UAE series against Australia will return for the World Cup.

The pitch in Dubai will play slow and low and scoring is expected to be difficult.

Pakistan squad: Shoaib Malik (captain), Shan Masood, Imam-ul-Haq, Haris Sohail, Faheem Ashraf, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Rizwan (wk), Abid Ali, Saad Ali, Umar Akmal, Junaid Khan, Yasir Shah, Usman Shinwari, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Abbas and Mohammad Hasnain.

Australia squad: Aaron Finch (captain), Usman Khawaja, Shaun Marsh, Peter Handscomb, Glenn Maxwell, Ashton Turner, Marcus Stoinis, Alex Carey, Pat Cummins, Nathan Coulter-Nile, Jhye Richardson, Kane Richardson, Jason Behrendorff, Nathan Lyon and Adam Zampa.

Hits: 0


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here